

School of Mathematics and Physics

SCHOOL OF MATHEMATICS AND PHYSICS EQUITY, DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION COMMITTEE Information for members

Date last approved:	June 2023	
Next review:	June 2023	
Reports to:	School of Mathematics and Physics Head of School	
Sub-Committees	Staff Gender Diversity Student Diversity: Gender Student Diversity: Low SES and Indigenous Celebrating Diversity	

Purpose

To advise and make recommendations to the School Executive Committee, Head of School, and/or other officers or members of the School as appropriate.

Terms of Reference

The Committee shall:

- Advise and make recommendations on matters relating to EDI, to ensure that all
 members of the School have equitable access to resources, have equitable
 opportunity, and are able to enjoy a pleasant, accepting, inclusive and diverse working
 environment.
- Advise and make recommendations on matters relating to EDI, to ensure the School considers EDI issues in its planning, to encourage and support the positions of women and people of other genders inside the School, and to generate a more equitable workforce going forward.
- Advise and make recommendations on matters relating to the University Policy and Procedures as they relate to issues of EDI.
- Monitor EDI indicators and activities, with respect to the staff and student experience within the school. These indicators may include student numbers, recruitment, academic and professional promotion, retention, mentoring, supervision, and the classroom environment.
- Encourage, initiate and support activities, projects and training that advance EDI inside the School.

Membership Composition

- Chair: School of Mathematics and Physics appointed Chair, who will also be part of the SMP Executive Committee (period of appointment 1 to 3 years)
- Rotating Meeting Chairs the meeting Chair is a role separate from the Committee Chair.
 The meeting Chair for the EDI meetings will be rostered and everyone will have the opportunity to Chair the meeting
- **Deputy Chair:** School of Mathematics and Physics appointed Deputy Chair (period of appointment 1 to 3 years)
- Head of School or nominee
- Staff Representatives ensuring a diverse representation across the School
- Student Representative (at least one)
- School Manager

Subcommittee Structure

There are four subcommittees focused on the following areas:

- 1. Staff Gender Diversity
- 2. Student Diversity: Gender
- 3. Student Diversity: Low SES and Indigenous
- 4. Celebrating Diversity

Each of these subcommittees will have 3-5 members and will be chaired by a member of the EDI Committee. Anyone from SMP can volunteer to be part of a subcommittee.

Appointment Process and Principles: New members will be appointed by Head of School in consultation with the Chair, with broad representation across the School. The Committee membership must consist of at least 30% of the minority gender.

Quorum: Meetings to be held quarterly. A quorum is 50% of members.

2023 Membership

Name	Position	Unit	Email
Professor Matthew Davis	Professor, Physics	SMP	mdavis@physics.uq.edu.au
	Chairperson		
Professor Joseph Grotowski	Head of School	SMP	j.grotowski@uq.edu.au
Lara Atzeni	School Manager	SMP	<u>l.atzeni@uq.edu.au</u>
Maarten Christenhusz	HDR student, Physics	SMP	m.christenhusz@uq.edu.au
Dr Sara Davies	Senior Lecturer, Mathematics	SMP	sara.davies@uq.edu.au
Dr Ava Greenwood	Lecturer, Mathematics	SMP	ava.greenwood@uq.edu.au
Dr Xin Guo	Senior Lecturer, Mathematics	SMP	xin.guo@uq.edu.au
Dr Matthew Holden	ARC DECRA Research Fellow, Lecturer	SMP	m.holden1@uq.edu.au
Dr Alan Huang	Lecturer, Mathematics	SMP	alan.huang@uq.edu.au
Chelsea Morrigan	Honours student, Physics	SMP	chelsea.obscura@protonmail.com
Dr Benjamin Pope	ARC DECRA Research Fellow	SMP	b.pope@uq.edu.au
Professor Ben Powell	Professor, Physics	SMP	powell@physics.uq.edu.au
Professor Halina Rubinsztein- Dunlop	ARC DECRA Research Fellow, Lecturer	SMP	halina@physics.uq.edu.au

Subcommittee Membership (sub-committee chair in bold letters)

Staff Gender Diversity	Student Diversity: Gender	Student Diversity: Low SES and Indigenous	Celebrating Diversity
Matthew Davis (Chair)	Ava Greenwood (Chair)	Alan Huang	Sara Davies (Chair)
Jacinda Ginges	Matthew Holden	Xin Guo	Maarten Christenhusz
Benjamin Pope	Zoltan Neufeld	Ben Powell	Sabrina Monaghan
Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop	Chelsea Morrigan		Lara Atzeni
Sally Shrapnel			

Secretary Details

Secretary: Sabrina Monaghan Email: s.monaghan@uq.edu.au

Governance & Administration

• The meeting schedule will be circulated separately to members.

- Additional agenda items and papers for circulation must be forwarded to the Secretary for Chair approval at least 10 days prior to the next scheduled meeting.
- Agendas will be emailed to members approximately one week before the meeting.
- Minutes will be prepared for each meeting and circulated to members electronically following endorsement by the Chair.
- Actions arising from the meeting will be recorded in the business arising section of the minutes
- Agendas and Papers for the committee will be published on the SMP SharePoint site.

Revision History

Version	Date of Approval	Date of Effect	Extent of Revision
Version 1	10 December 2019 Ratified SMP Executive Committee	2019	First release
Version 1.1	July	2022	Membership updated and ToRs amended
Version 1.2	May	2023	Membership updated