About Mathematics and Statistics

Today, Mathematics and Statistics combine insights from mathematical theory with modelling and computational skills and the latest computer technology to solve problems in the physical and biological sciences, engineering, information technology, economics and finance.

Mathematics is located in the Priestley Building (Building No. 67) on the St Lucia Campus. All enquiries and deliveries should be directed to:

Mathematics Office
Level 6
Priestley Building (Building No. 67)
The University of Queensland
St Lucia, Queensland, 4072

Alternatively, you can contact Mathematics by phone +61 7 3365 3277, fax +61 7 3365 1477 or email admin@maths.uq.edu.au.

Our Research

At UQ we focus on areas including

  • Algebra and Number Theory
  • Combinatorics
  • Financial Mathematics
  • Geometric and Nonlinear Analysis
  • Computational Geometry and Topology
  • Mathematical Biology
  • Mathematical Education
  • Mathematical Material Science
  • Mathematical Physics
  • Scientific Computing and Numerical Modelling
  • Probability and Statistics

Click here for more information about our research.

Our Courses

The School of Mathematics and Physics is committed to providing students with the highest quality teaching and learning standards through dedicated and award-winning lecturers, as well as through access to the latest research and world-class resources.

Click here to view the Mathematics and Statistics course listing for 2013.

Maths Colloquium Series

The Maths Colloquium is the main event of the Maths Department. It is directed to students and academic staff working in pure and applied mathematics and statistics. The aim is to present expository lectures appealing to this broad audience.

Click here to view our upcoming events.

Our Mathematics Academic Staff

For more information about our Mathematics academic staff, see the list below.

Click here for a full list of our staff at the School of Mathematics and Physics, including our Honorary, Emeritus, and Professional Staff.

Callers from outside the University will need to add a prefix to the extension number provided.

For extension 5xxxx, eg. 56789, add 336 = 336-56789

For extension 6xxxx, eg. 67890, add 334 = 334-67890

From outside Queensland
The prefix is 07 eg. 3365 6789 = 07 3365 6789

From outside Australia
The prefix is +61 7 eg. 3365 6789 = +61 7 3365 6789


Staff Member Position Building/Room Phone E-mail
Professor Peter Adams Associate Dean, Academic, Faculty of Science 69-Lvl 2 53276 p.adams@uq.edu.au
Dr Peter Baxter Lecturer 69-814-A 52587 p.baxter@uq.edu.au
Professor Darryn Bryant Discovery Outstanding Research Award Fellow 67-540 51342 db@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Michael Bulmer Senior Lecturer, Chief Academic Advisor Undergraduate BSc BA Mathematics 67-754 57905 m.bulmer@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Benjamin Burton QEII Research Fellow 67-547 51164 bab@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Vivien Challis Australian Postdoctoral Fellow --- - vchallis@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Yao-ban Chan Lecturer Priestley Building, 67-450 53264 yaoban.chan@uq.edu.au
Dr Duy-Minh Dang Senior Lecturer (Director of the Master of Financial Mathematics Program) 67-752 52686 duyminh.dang@uq.edu.au
Dr Matthew Dean Affiliate Academic 67-742 53251 mdean@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Diane Donovan Associate Professor, Chair of Engagement and Internationalisation Committee 67-653 51354 dmd@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Michael Forbes Senior Lecturer 69-711 56128 m.forbes@uq.edu.au
Professor Geoff Goodhill Professor 79-424C 66431 g.goodhill@uq.edu.au
Professor Mark Gould Professor 67-650 52424 m.gould1@uq.edu.au
Professor Joseph Grotowski Head of School 67-647 53260 j.grotowski@uq.edu.au
Dr Christophe Haynes 69-713 3365 7506 c.haynes@uq.edu.au
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 67-448 53337 p.hillock@uq.edu.au
Dr Cathy Holmes Senior Lecturer 69-708 53262 cah@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Min-Chun Hong Senior Lecturer, Library Liaison Officer, Mathematics 69-707 69036 hong@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Alan Huang Priestley, 67-748 52315 alan.huang@uq.edu.au
Dr Phil Isaac Lecturer 67-446 53267 psi@maths.uq.edu.au
Mr Michael Jennings Lecturer 67-449 53255 msj@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Masoud Kamgarpour 69-714 56130 masoud@uq.edu.au
Professor Dirk Kroese Professor 67-745 53287 kroese@maths.uq.edu.au
Ms Sharon Lee Research Assistant 67-742 53251 s.lee11@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Jon Links Research Fellow, Director - Centre of Mathematical Physics, Mathematics Postgraduate Coursework Coordinator 69-701 52400 jrl@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Benoit Liquet 67-749 53279 b.liquet@uq.edu.au
Dr Barbara Maenhaut Lecturer 67-549 53258 bmm@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Ian Marquette Postdoctoral research fellow 69-807 67952 i.marquette@uq.edu.au
Dr Clare Anne McGrory Lecturer 69-810 53265 c.mcgrory@uq.edu.au
Professor Geoff McLachlan Australian Professorial Fellow 67-743 52150 g.mclachlan@uq.edu.au
Dr Ross McVinish Research Fellow 67-751 53116 r.mcvinish@uq.edu.au
Dr Yoni Nazarathy Lecturer with DECRA, Honours Coordinator 67-753 69032 y.nazarathy@uq.edu.au
Dr Zoltan Neufeld ARC Future Fellow 69-710 51349 z.neufeld@uq.edu.au
Dr Huy Nguyen Lecturer 67-345 56134 huy.nguyen@maths.uq.edu.au
Professor Phil Pollett Professor of Mathematics, Node Leader, Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Mathematical and Statistical Frontiers (ACEMS) 67-652 53459 pkp@maths.uq.edu.au
Professor Hugh Possingham ARC Federation Fellow 8-266 59766 h.possingham@uq.edu.au
Dr Olli Pottonen Postdoctoral Research Fellow 69-712 69404 o.pottonen@uq.edu.au
Dr Artem Pulemotov Lecturer 67-346 53270 a.pulemotov@uq.edu.au
Dr Jorgen Rasmussen ARC Future Fellow, Senior Lecturer 69-709 58506 j.rasmussen@uq.edu.au
Dr Suren Rathnayake Postdoc Research Fellow 67-743 52150 suren@maths.uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Anthony Richardson ARC Future Fellow 69-814 52587 ajr@maths.uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Anthony Roberts Senior Lecturer, Maths Major Convenor 67-548 53263 apr@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Leonardo Rojas-Nandayapa Research Fellow 67-756 52309 l.rojasnandayapa@uq.edu.au
Dr Victor Scharaschkin Lecturer, Honours Co-ordinator 67-544 52321 victors@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Ricardo Silva Tavares de Lemos Lecturer 69-808 69035 r.lemos@uq.edu.au
Dr Jonathan Spreer Postdoctoral Research Fellow 67-751 53116 j.spreer@uq.edu.au
Dr Thomas Taimre Lecturer 67-451 52313 t.taimre@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Bevan Thompson Reader, Head-Scientific Analysis Program 67-651 53252 hbt@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Slava (Radislav) Vaisman 69-711 56128 r.vaisman@uq.edu.au
Professor You-Gan Wang Chair of Applied Statistics and Centre for Applications in Natural Resource Mathematics (CARM) 69-815 52236 you-gan.wang@uq.edu.au
Professor Ole Warnaar Chair and Professor in Pure Mathematics 69-705 53487 o.warnaar@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Richard Wilson Senior Lecturer, Statistics Major Convenor 67-744 53092 rjw@maths.uq.edu.au
Dr Ian Wood Lecturer, Postgraduate Coordinator Mathematics 67-755 56139 i.wood1@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Yao-Zhong Zhang Reader 69-702 53256 yzz@maths.uq.edu.au