About Physics

Physics is a fundamental science dedicated to solving big questions such as "where did we come from?" that have puzzled mankind for centuries. At a practical level, physics embraces the study of basic natural laws and explains how and why things work on scales ranging from the cosmos to the tiniest sub-atomic level.

Physics is located in the Physics Annexe (Building No. 6) on the St Lucia Campus. All enquiries and deliveries should be directed to:

Physics Office
Level 3
Room 324
Physics Annexe (Building No.6)
The University of Queensland
St Lucia, Queensland, 4072

Alternatively, you can contact Physics by phone +61 7 3365 3424, fax +61 7 3365 1242 or email d.peachey@uq.edu.au.

Our Research

UQ has one of the strongest groups of researchers in physics in Australia. Our research broadly falls into the categories of quantum science, laser science, condensed matter physics and astrophysics. We have approximately 40 academic and research staff and 60 research postgraduate students, and have an annual research income of several million dollars. UQ physics leads the ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems, and forms part of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computer and Communication Technology, the Centre for Organic Photonics and Electronics, and the Centre for Hypersonics. We also host the Centre for Biophotonics and Laser Science.

Click here for more information about our research.

Our Courses

The School of Mathematics and Physics is committed to providing students with the highest quality teaching and learning standards through dedicated and award-winning lecturers, as well as through access to the latest research and world-class resources.

Click here to view the Physics course listing for 2013.

Our Physics Academic Staff

For more information about our Physics academic staff, see the list below.

Click here for a full list of our staff at the School of Mathematics and Physics, including our Honorary, Emeritus, and Professional Staff.

Callers from outside the University will need to add a prefix to the extension number provided.

For extension 5xxxx, eg. 56789, add 336 = 336-56789

For extension 6xxxx, eg. 67890, add 334 = 334-67890

From outside Queensland
The prefix is 07 eg. 3365 6789 = 07 3365 6789

From outside Australia
The prefix is +61 7 eg. 3365 6789 = +61 7 3365 6789


Staff Member Position Building/Room Phone E-mail
Dr Uzma Akram Research Fellow 7-316 58579 uzma@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Mark Baker Postdoctoral Research Fellow 6-401 69837 m.baker@physics.uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Holger Baumgardt Associate Professor 6-439 53430 h.baumgardt@uq.edu.au
Dr Remi Blandino Postdoctoral Research Fellow, CQC2T 7-320 69037 r.blandino@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Warwick Bowen Senior Lecturer 6-328 69425 wbowen@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Cyril Branciard UQ Postdoctoral Research Fellow 7-307A 57415 c.branciard@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Michael Bromley ARC Future Fellow 6 (Physics Annexe)-329 +61-7-336-51869 brom@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr David Carberry 6-330 +61 (0)7 336 53413 d.carberry@uq.edu.au
Professor Carl Caves Professor --- - c.caves@uq.edu.au
Dr Joel Corney Senior Lecturer 6-406 53404 corney@physics.uq.edu.au
Professor Matthew Davis Professor 6-403 69824 mdavis@physics.uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Tamara Davis Australian Research Council Future Fellow 6-438 53433 tamarad@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Marcelo De Almeida ARC DECRA Fellowship 7-308a 67347 marcelo@physics.uq.edu.au
Professor Michael Drinkwater Professor of Astrophysics 6-418A 53428 m.drinkwater@uq.edu.au
Dr Arkady Fedorov Senior Lecturer 6-332 53418 a.fedorov@uq.edu.au
Dr Alessandro Fedrizzi Research Fellow 7-308A 67031 fedrizzi@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Simon Haine Research Fellow 6-409 69827 haine@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Michael Holt Postdoctoral Research Fellow 6-327 +61 7 33653441 m.holt3@uq.edu.au
Dr Ivan Kassal ARC DECRA Research Fellow 7-307A 57415 i.kassal@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Karen Kheruntsyan ARC Future Fellow 6-402 53420 karen.kheruntsyan@uq.edu.au
Dr Vincent Loke Associate Lecturer Physics Annexe-333 3365 3436 loke@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Austin Lund Postdoctoral Research Fellow 7-320 69037 a.lund@uq.edu.au
Dr Lars Skovgaard Madsen 6-435 53412 m.lars@uq.edu.au
Dr Smriti Mahajan Postdoctoral Research Fellow 6-415 58213 s.mahajan1@uq.edu.au
Dr Ian McCulloch Lecturer in Condensed Matter Physics; Physics Honours and Postgraduate Coursework Coordinator 6-331 52473 ianmcc@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Tim McIntyre Head of Physics 6-325 (07) 336 53423 mcintyre@physics.uq.edu.au
Professor Ross McKenzie Australian Professorial Fellow 6-426 53421 mckenzie@physics.uq.edu.au
Professor Paul Meredith Vice-Chancellor's Senior Research Fellow 6-327 57050 meredith@physics.uq.edu.au
Professor Gerard J. Milburn Director, Centre for Engineered Quantum Systems 7-305 56931 g.milburn@uq.edu.au
Dr Clemens Mueller 7-308 +61 7 336 67031 c.muller2@uq.edu.au
Dr Casey Myers Postdoctoral Research Fellow 7-307 67348 myers@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Ebinazar Namdas ARC Future Fellow 6-412 53274 e.namdas@uq.edu.au
Dr Tyler Neely Postdoctoral Research Fellow 6-413 69727 t.neely@uq.edu.au
Dr Timo Nieminen Senior Lecturer 6-433 52422 timo@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Megan O'Mara ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher 76-431 +61 7 336 51588 m.omara@uq.edu.au
Dr Murray Olsen ARC Future Fellow 6-405 53427 mko@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Seth Olsen ARC Australian Research Fellow 6-431 52816 seth.olsen@uq.edu.au
Dr Bhola Pal Postdoctoral fellow 6-416 +61 7 3346 7715 b.pal@uq.edu.au
Dr David Parkinson ARC Future Fellow 6-437 51026 d.parkinson@uq.edu.au
Dr Taras Plakhotnik Senior Lecturer 6-429 69683 taras@physics.uq.edu.au
Associate Professor Ben Powell Associate Professor 6-430 52401 powell@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Daryl Preece Research Fellow 6-434 53425 d.preece@physics.uq.edu.au
Professor Tim Ralph QCT-SRC Node Manager 7-319 69693 ralph@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Anton Rayner Lecturer 6-432 57471 a.rayner1@uq.edu.au
Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop Professor 6-321 53405 halina@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Jacopo Sabbatini Postdoctoral Research Fellow 6-413 69727 sabbatini@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Tom Stace Senior Lecturer, Research Fellow 7-309 +61 (0)7 3365 1868 stace@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Mujeeb Ullah Postdoctoral Research Fellow 6-416 69072 mujeeb.ullah@uq.edu.au
Dr Margaret Wegener Lecturer 6-428 51244 m.wegener@uq.edu.au
Dr Till Weinhold Research Fellow 7-308A 67347 weinhold@physics.uq.edu.au
Professor Andrew White Vice Chancellor's Senior Research Fellow at The University of Queensland, Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science 7-309 57902 andrew.white@uq.edu.au
Dr Tod Wright Research Fellow 6-401 69837 todw@physics.uq.edu.au
Dr Tony Wright UQ Postdoctoral Fellow 6-413 69727 a.wright7@uq.edu.au