SMP research on display at Poster Day

27 September 2018

The 17th Annual SMP Postgraduate Poster Day competition was held in the Alumni Court, UQ St Lucia campus on Friday 14th September 2018. Thirty posters were presented at the event, with over 100 guests from UQ's research and School community in attendance, including the Science Executive Dean, as well as a number of visiting prospective PhD students from around Australia and New Zealand. Professor Melissa Brown, Executive Dean, Faculty of Science, presented our winners with their awards:

Phil Dyer (PhD candidate. Principal Advisor: Professor Anthony Richardson; Associate Advisors: Associate Professor David Schoeman; Dr Roland Pitcher) Best Mathematics/Statistics poster - Data-Driven Models of Biodiversity in the Australian Pelagic Ocean

Michael Kewming (PhD candidate. Principal Advisor: Dr Jacqui Romero; Associate Advisor: Professor Andrew White) Best Physics poster - Ignorance of the whole does not imply ignorance of the parts

Liam Hodgkinson (PhD candidate.  Principal Advisor: Professor Phil Pollett; Associate Advisor: Dr Ross McVinish) Best 2nd time presenter - Normal Approximations for Occupancy Processes using Stein’s Method

In addition to the Poster Day competition, RHD students were also invited to nominate for the School’s Best Student Publication Award.  Two awards are given annually, one for a mathematics/statistics publication and the other for a physics publication.  The winners presented with their awards for 2018 are:


Leslie Cheung - 1st prize for 'Best Student Publication Award 2018' 

Highly Commended - Timothy Buttsworth & Robin Pearce


Samuel Nolan - 1st prize for 'Best Student Publication Award 2018' 

Highly Commended - Thomas Bell & Scott Hoffman 

Congratulations to our awardees who received prizes of conference funding to attend and present their findings at future conferences.  Thank you to all our student participants for their efforts to make the day a success and in displaying and discussing their research work with the community.