SMP Research Student Poster and Publication Awards 2020

27 Oct 2020
Anthia Le and her poster
"The Evolution of Menopause"

The School’s annual Poster Day was held on Friday 23 October 2020. This year, the venue was the UQ  Centre, to provide for appropriate physical distancing.  The venue worked extremely well - 90 staff and students attended in the open space to view 19 posters (PDF, 6.4 MB) (13 Physics posters and 6 Maths posters).  The School also holds an annual Student Publication Award, which received excellent submissions this year, with presentations made for the separate categories in Mathematics and Physics.  Special mention for Ming Chen, a Mathematics PhD student who was unable to return to Australia in Semester 1, 2020 due to the Australian Government’s COVID-19 restrictions on international travel from February.  He was determined to take part in SMP’s Poster Day and took the creative measure to set up a video to guide viewers through his poster, which can be seen here:

All participating students deserve congratulations for presenting their work in this year’s Poster Day under some challenging circumstances.  Thanks are also extended to Jonathan Paul (HDR Advisor for SMP), and SMP staff Christina Pedersen, Melanie Edwards, Vanessa Di Giglio, Janet Seddon and Marianne Doyle-Pegg for organising the day.

Poster Day Winners

  • Mathematics - Yannick Rist, "The Dial-A-Ride Problem:  Combining Dantzig-Wolfe and Benders Decomposition", Principal Advisor Dr Michael Forbes, Associate Advisor Dr Michael Bulmer.
  • Physics - Steven Simmons, "What is a Quantum Shock Wave?", Principal Advisor Professor Karen Kheruntsyan, Associate Advisor Professor Matt Davis.
  • Returning Presenter (Maths/Physics) - Simon Deeley, "Multiple Formation Pathways for S0s", Principal Advisor Professor Michael Drinkwater, Associate Advisor Associate Professor Holger Baumgardt.
SMP Poster Day Winners with Head of School Professor Joe Grotowski.
L to R - Steven Simmons (Physics); Yannick Rist (Maths), Simon Deeley (Returning), Professor Joe Grotowski


Student Publication Award Winners

  • Mathematics (tie for First Prize)
    • Marcus Triplett, Zac Pujic, Biao Sun, Lilach Avitan, and Geoffrey J. Goodhill, "Model-based decoupling of evoked and spontaneous neural activity in calcium imaging data", PLOS Computational Biology, 2020.
    • Rixon Crane and Fred Roosta, “DINGO:  Distributed Newton-Type Method for Gradient-Norm Optimization”, Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems, 2019.
  • Physics (First Prize)
    • Elise P. Kenny, Anthony C. Jacko, and Ben J. Powell , “Mechanomagnetics in Elastic Crystals: Insights from [Cu (acac) 2]", Angewandte Chemie International Edition Vol. 58 (42), p. 15082-15088 (2019).
  • Highly Commended
    • Mathematics - Yang Liu and Fred Roosta, “Convergence of Newton-MR under Inexact Hessian Information”, SIAM Journal on Optimization (SIOPT), 2020.
    • Physics - Stefan Forstner, Magdalena Zych, Sahar Basiri-Esfahani, Kiran Khosla, and Warwick Bowen, “Nanomechanical test of quantum linearity”, Optica, 7, p. 1427-1434 (2020).