SMP researchers honoured with appointments to ARC College of Experts

19 Nov 2015

Two distinguished researchers from the School of Mathematics and Physics in the Faculty of Science at The University of Queensland have been appointed to the Australian Research Council (ARC) College of Experts.

Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop and Professor Ole Warnaar  join a further nine UQ researchers on the 170-member panel, recognising their expertise and international standing in the Australian academic community.

The ARC is a Commonwealth entity within the Australian Government. It provides advice to the Government on research matters and administers the National Competitive Grants Programme, a significant component of Australia's investment in research and development.

The ARC engages an ARC College of Experts to play a key role in identifying research excellence, moderating external assessments and recommending fundable proposals.

Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, UQ Professor in Physics and also a Chief Investigator in the ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineering Quantum Systems has been nominated to the College’s Physics, Chemistry and Earth Sciences panel.

Professor Rubinsztein-Dunlop has internationally recognised expertise in lasers, linear and nonlinear high-resolution spectroscopy, laser micromanipulation, and atom cooling and trapping. She has over 220 publications in international peer refereed journals, eleven book chapters, a large number of international conference contributions and several invited talks. She is internationally recognised for her pioneering work on the transfer of angular momentum of light to microscopic particles.

Professor in Pure Mathematics and Australian Professorial Fellow Professor Ole Warnaar has been nominated to the College’s Engineering, Information Technology and Computing Science panel.

Professor Warnaar, whose research interests include algebraic combinatorics, special functions and partition theory, is the current Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Combinatorial Theory, Series A, and was elected to the Australian Academy of Science in 2008.